Water Project – Banner Ads

Standard

Banner Ads

As part of my project “Water: The Source of Life” I have created two banner ads for the website.

For the first, I was supplied with the text and the dimensions.

I made a gradient background, added the text and logo and added drop shadow around the text to give depth and texture. I think it gives the impression of clouds, although this was not my intention.

The second banner came straight from my imagination:

I was given the dimensions and used a photograph of a water droplet as the background. I created the text and centred it all on the page. The text, read downwards, is intended to mirror the drop of water.

In both banner ads, I made a “call to action” button. Although the whole ad would probably be ‘live’ (ie: you click anywhere on it and it takes you to the link,) it is psychologically inticing to press something that looks like a 3D button. We instinctively are drawn to such objects, so it is a good idea to add one, to let the viewer know that this (the ad)  is something clickable.

To make it, I simply drew a ’rounded rectangle’ with the draw tool, gave it a slight drop shadow and bevel, then added text on top, which I also gave a slight shadow, to make it all stand out a bit.

I am particularly pleased with my Saving Water ad, but I prefer the button on the Blue Planet ad.

 

Photo Reference:

Water Droplet

 

Leave a Reply

